Cloud Tags
  • UNICODE Standards
  • CLDR
  • Character Encoding
  • W3C Standards
  • Keyboard standards
  • Transliteration standards
  • SMS Standards
  • Speech Resources Standards
  • Language Resource Development

Standardization is the only means to unite the diversity of Indian language arena to develop and maintain best practices in the field of languages. India has 22 constitutionally recognized languages and 12 scripts, it is therefore essential to have a common platform of standardization to develop and maintain best practices in the field of languages. TDIL Programme initiated by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) is an apex body for the development and maintenance of standardization of Indian languages to achieve communication without language barrier in the field of ICT.

To maintain the universal sustainability and development of India and its living languages in the ICT system, TDIL is working in the following areas for standards so that its key pillars of Indian Languages scripts would be preserved while developing application for mass usage. TDIL is working for the development and enhancement of the standards in the following field with various international organizations:

1.UNICODE Standards- Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Ministry of Communications & IT, is the voting member of the Unicode Consortium. All eleven Indian scripts namely; Devanagari, Bengali, Gurmukhi, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Odia, Tamil, Arabic and Telugu are represented in Unicode. Two projects of Unicode are evolving under the umbrella of TDIL:

i) CLDR- It contains locale specific information that an operating system will typically provide to applications for six Indian languages namely Hindi, Bengali, Assamese, Nepali, Malayalam and Gujarati has been accepted by Unicode CLDR Committee.

ii) Character Encoding- All scripts of Indian languages are represented in Unicode for global exchange of Data.

2. W3C Standards- W3C India Office proposes to work in close collaboration with all stakeholders of academia, government, industry and industry associations. India is a voting member of W3C and is the Advisory Committee Representative.

3. Keyboard standards –Indian script keyboard has been standardized by DOE in 1986, keyboard overlay is phonetic in nature and has a common layout for all the 22 constitutionally recognized languages.

4.Transliteration standards – TDIL Programme of DeitY, with other national and international organizations is working on transliteration projects so that major literary work done in one language gets translated to other Indian language.

5. SMS Standards -TDIL Programme of DeitY, is working to develop standards in Indian Languages SMS so that approximately 250 million mobile users in India will benefit. Service providers will not be able to leverage growing customer base in rural areas unless services are provided in local languages.

6.Speech Resources Standards - TDIL along with NCIST is working to develop the speech-standards so that the resources can be developed for Indian languages in standards. Speech corpora for all 22 constitutionally recognized languages is under development. so that, various application can be developed for mass usage.

7. Language Resource Development – Working to develop the standards for electronic versions of language resource for Indian languages. A lot of work is in progress and under evolution for dictionaries, corpora etc.

Standardization deliver measurable benefits and establishes an international consensus on terminology, thus make technology transfer easier and safer.